most creative person in the world?

At first, I don’t think choosing a person to be ‘the-most-creative-person-in-the-world’ would be hard. Five minutes later, I’m confused. How could I find the most creative person in the world? Even it is based on my own opinion it is super hard. I can’t even choose what is my favorite food!

Therefore, this topic will be continue later on. After I found someone. (hopefully)

‘8 days later…’

Okay, I had it. Actually, I have found my most creative person since the day I started writing this post. However, I feel that by choosing Marc Jacobs as the most creative person in the world will make people think that I am a shallow-fashion-follower-with-no-creative-thoughts-at-all. Then I try to find someone less famous, with great talent, and amazing work. I’ve found some candidates (I won’t tell who is it) but then I think, why should I lie? Marc Jacobs really is super creative and talented. And I am a typical girl who lust over bags, shoes and clothes. Consequently, I changed my mind and continue to write this post.

I seriously think that people who doesn’t ever heard about the name Marc Jacobs is a weirdo (well, not exactly a weirdo,but, oh, whatever). Why? he or she should at least heard MJ name once. He is the oh-so-famous-it-bag-maker designer that adored by many known celebrities and fashionistas such as Victoria Beckham, Rachel Zoe, Mischa Barton, Kate Moss, and Rachel Bilson (hell, even Winona Ryder is guilty of stealing a Marc Jacobs bag). His works are widely displayed across top fashion magazines and I just love his design and the way he presented it to the public.

Itty-bitty biography

And now, I’ll tell you a bit about Marc Jacobs himself (at least I have to explain this a little even you could found everything easily using Google, right?). Marc Jacobs was born in New York on April 9, 1963. He has a father who died when he was seven and his mother sent him to live with his grandma. It was his grandma who encouraged him to be a designer. He went to High School of Art and Design in New York and later on, attended the Parsons School of Design in New York City (it’s where ‘Project Runway’ take place!). He won the Perry Ellis Gold Thimble Award in 1984. After finished his study at Parsons, he began to design at Perry Ellis. Unfortunately, he was out of job in 1993 due to the ‘grunge’ collection that he designed. The bright side of the story is that he was started to become famous. Then he collaborated with Robert Duffy to formed ‘Jacobs Duffy Designs Inc.’, until now. Since 1986, he already started his own line called ‘Marc Jacobs’ who won the CFDA (Council of Fashion Designers of America) Perry Ellis Award for New Fashion Talent. The designer that Vogue described as ‘dauphin of grungy, understated cool’ is now working as the Creative Director of Louis Vuitton and owned three clothing lines (Marc Jacobs, Marc by Marc Jacobs, and Little Marc).

Marc Jacobs. The gay guy that I love (no offense, really).

Marc Jacobs. The gay guy that I love (no offense, really)

The Reason why-I-choose-Marc-Jacobs-as-the-most-creative-people-in-the-world

So, why Marc Jacobs? Firstly, I just like the way he presents fashion to the people. It is kind of hard to explain, but I feel that he tries to capture the different side of fashion that no other designers are able to do it before him.

“What I prefer is that even if someone feels hedonistic, they don’t look it. Curiosity about sex is much more interesting to me than domination. … My clothes are not hot. Never. Never.”

 

Secondly, because I feel that his design contain the essences of peculiar, oddness, i don’t know, something strange, eccentrics but elegant, feminine, and beautiful at the same time. Oh yeah, it is idiosyncratic i think. Just the right amount of ‘fashionable’. He is able to make something bad to become something good, or even great. And thirdly, the one thing that I love the most about Marc Jacobs is the fashion ad campaign. It has a certain weirdness in it, kind of elusive, but tangible at the same time, like an entirely different world. The ad really capture the design essences that I described above. I LOVE IT!

The Bags

 

Nowadays, it is all about the It Bag. You can wear your mom clothes, or even pieces of newspaper, but still look fashion forward with the help of the It Bag. Marc Jacobs is able to design using the part of a cow (i meant leather, i don’t know why I described it like that, maybe I’m just trying to look cool) to become something iconic, that adored by the whole female population in the world. It’s the piece of his mind. It’s the most-wanted item. It’s the It Bag. It’s the Stam Bag.

The Stam Bag. It's not just a bag. It's a Stam bag. It was named after Jessica Stam, the supermodel.

The Stam Bag. It's not just a bag. It is a Stam bag. Named after Jessica Stam, the supermodel.

The Idiosyncratic

It is weird. It is odd, strange, peculiar and what? It’s what creativity really is. To take something old and making it new. It doesn’t have to look like something that we already knew, right? Maybe his design sometimes unacceptable for most people but for me, I think it is really refreshing to view something differently.

“I love that reaction of love or hate. It’s indifference that bores me to death.”

To view the world from the different sides. His design tickles my sense of awareness, realize that everything in this world does not have to be taken too seriously.

Could you wear something like this? Who knows maybe in 10 years all shoes would look like this. Why not?

Could you wear something like this? Who knows maybe in 10 years all shoes would look like this. Why not?

The Ads

Like I said million times before, I love Marc Jacobs ad. Look at the Marc Jacobs ad featuring Winona Rider (below), it is kind of ironic seeing her in the ad since her ‘stealing-tragedy’ in Barney’s. Anyway, let’s talk about the ad, shall we? Ok, the Winona ad illustrated a typical-girl habit who haphazardly open a present then immediately show it to other people. Then maybe she’s getting ready for her party. The photos does not look well made, does not show the clothes clearly, and it is pretty quirky.

Winona Ryder in a Marc Jacobs Ad.

Winona Ryder in a Marc Jacobs Ad.

But seriously, look at her. She looks effortlessly pretty, fresh and innocent. Even though it seems like she’s just rolled out of her bed. Strangely beautiful. I wish I could look like that when I woke up in the morning.

Harmony Korine, Film Maker. by Juergen Teller.

Harmony Korine, Film Maker. by Juergen Teller.

The next one, it’s a Marc Jacobs ad campaign for the men’s wear. It portrays how guys typically eat burger. Messy. But sexy and still looks cool.

So what is the message that Marc Jacobs trying to deliver to the consumer?

Before I answer that question, let’s take a look at another MJ ad featuring Meg White (below). In this photos, Meg White looks like she’s playing imaginary drums with the helps of Marc Jacobs bags (as the drums) and two branches of tree (as the stick). She looks so cool, I want to play drums.

Meg White for Marc Jacobs.

Meg White for Marc Jacobs.

Now, let’s go back to the question. What the ad is trying to say? Based on my opinion, I don’t think MJ is trying to sell his clothes the typical way. Pretty models, great looks, clear picture of the bags, or clothes. Here, MJ never photograph the clothes so that’s it looks like he sell it. What he was trying to sell is the idea of the Marc Jacobs image itself. MJ tend to vaguely show his clothes, it looks like it was just a property. But what did I think when I see MJ ad with Winona in it. I didn’t say I wan’t to buy her clothes but I did say I wish I was that pretty when I woke up in the morning. How about the Harmony Korine ad? Do you think that men will say, wow, his shirt looks great, I want one? No, what they are saying instead is I want to look like I haven’t showered and messy but I’m still look attractive. And what about Meg White? I didn’t say I want to buy the bags or the clothes that she’s wearing but I said I want to play drums, just like her.

M.I.A. for Marc by Marc Jacobs.

M.I.A. for Marc by Marc Jacobs.

As I have mentioned above, the MJ ad is elusive, yet tangible at the same time. Like an entirely different world. And that world is what MJ trying to ‘sell’. All the model looks make-up-free, strange pose, careless, not well-dressed. But look closer, and you could see how good looking the model really are. They look very easy-on-the-eyes without even trying. Yes, they are odd, peculiar, but also out-of-the-question-ly HIP! It is the world of Marc. The world where you could do nothing, but still able to make other people want to be you even though you look kinda stupid.

Dakota Fanning for Marc by Marc Jacobs

Dakota Fanning for Marc by Marc Jacobs

The Little Marc

I want to go back to the time when I was a little girl. Stupid little girl who adore princess stuff and awfully looking weeding dress. If I could look like this when I was a little, how do you think I’ll look when I grow up? (I wish I was the girl in the Little Marc ads)

The big-bow-girl. How could this girl look so.. STUNNING?!

The big-bow-girl. How could this girl look so.. STUNNING?!

Comments
5 Responses to “most creative person in the world?”
  1. kennymoron says:

    help me to find one! give me your opinion on who is the most creative person in the world..

  2. dwitaa says:

    ken gw tauuu……..

    GW aja hahahhahahahahhahahahahahaha

  3. kennymoron says:

    dasar wita gila, klo lo paling kreatif yang ga kreatif kaya apaaaaa

  4. arindaa says:

    yes yes gw stuju! marc jacobs bs jadi nominasi org plg kreatif in the world!

  5. kennymoron says:

    terima kasih nda, eh nda, gue merasa ada yg aneh dgn blog gue, kenapa halaman depannya begitu. brubah sendiri..

Leave a Reply

